“When Did You Get So Old?”

April 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

“When did you get so old?” asked the woman in the pew in front of me at a memorial service. I hadn’t seen her for about twenty years. She looked about the same, a little more faded, some neck wrinkles, still plain spoken.

I blinked, thinking, at least I don’t blurt out everything I think.

Old? I’m not old! Yes, I’m bravely allowing my hair to gray naturally. Yes, I may have added a few (?) pounds since my over-thin adolescence through thirties. But, old? Surely not yet!

It’s all perception and comparison, isn’t it? When I see someone whom I haven’t seen for a long time, my own compare-o-meter starts buzzing. Especially if the person is around my age I wonder, do I look as old as that?

Aging is sneaky. It sneaks up you on “little cat feet.” It helps to see your friends often so you don’t notice the little changes, wrinkles, little brown facial spots or (gasp) graying hair.  And if you want to have friends into your senior years, don’t ever ask them, “When did you get so old?”

copyright 2011

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “When Did You Get So Old?” at Grace to Gray.

meta

