Many Don’ts Don’t Make a Do

June 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

What next? Just in time for summer, last night’s TV news featured coming regulations for the sunscreen industry. It seems that we haven’t been given the full picture about the efficacy of our sunscreen. For protection against cancer, it needs to be broad spectrum, and a golf-ball-sized amount needs to be applied every two hours. And there’s no such thing as waterproof. All this has been mandated in Europe for five years and we’re just being notified.

Every couple of days there’s a new revelation. Our fruits and vegetables are found to be saturated with pesticides, which the FDA says isn’t apparently harmful in the amount we get. Coffee is good, coffee is bad. Styrofoam cups–who uses those?– are again being castigated. And the list goes on, with daily revelations.

It’s no better if you visit your family doctor. He or she will cheerfully tell you that your percentage of having a stroke is at 20 percent, or whatever percentage he/she deems. Lose weight, don’t eat sugar, exercise, exercise, exercise. Do something about your cholesterol and your blood pressure, and you are walking daily, aren’t you? Watch what you’re eating. And are you taking your vitamins?

All these DON’TS are piling up and seem to be having the opposite effect on me. I don’t want to do. I want to simplify. I think I’m better off with common sense, which isn’t quite as common as it used to be.

I will not slather on a whole tube of sunscreen for one day’s outing at the beach, but I will wear a hat and put on a cover up when I’ve had enough.

I will eat vegetables and fruit cheerfully, but, yes, washed. The vegetables will come from my own garden … no pesticides need to apply, thank you.

I will walk for enjoyment and exercise and search out new places to keep the interest level up. I will look for fun things to do outside because I want to, and because I’ll feel better if I do, not because Dr. Clipboard is tell me to.

And I think I’ll stop watching TV news. Too many don’ts don’t make this girl do.

ⓒ Inger Logelin 2011

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Many Don’ts Don’t Make a Do at Grace to Gray.

meta

