You Can’t Be Anything You Want

May 15, 2012 § 2 Comments

Getting older takes the pressure off the grand scope of unrealistic expectations.

I know now that I’ll never:

  • Climb Mount Rainier
  • Sing back-up to Willie Nelson
  • Write the next Hunger Games-style trilogy
  • Have my own talk show on TV
  • Become a millionaire.

Our children are taught that they can be anything they want to be. You know, it’s just not true. For all of us there are choices, exclusions, forks in the road. Our natural giftings influence our successes.

It’s refreshing to me to now be able to shuck off expectations that put pressure on me to perform, to be, to do. The narrowing avenue of years ahead force me to concentrate on what is important, what I really need to do, the legacy I really want to leave.

“Teach us so to number our days, that we may acquire discerning minds,” says Psalm 91:12 (Modern Language version). I need to discern between what is good to what is best, what is trivial to what is eternal, what is time wasting to what is crucial.

I’m making a new list.

  • Love my people
  • Write down what I don’t want my family to forget
  • Get rid of the junk, the time wasters, the non-essential
  • And most of all to follow what God has in mind for me: “… to be fair and just and merciful, and to walk humbly with your God” (Micah 6:8, The Living Bible).

Deep breath. Ah, yes. Simplify.

ⓒ Inger Logelin 2012

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to You Can’t Be Anything You Want

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You Can’t Be Anything You Want at Grace to Gray.

meta

